Turn Envy into Admiration

Bond Wang
4 min readDec 30, 2022

The hardest ones are those who have no desire.

Photo by James Jeremy Beckers on Unsplash

When I was little, I remember feeling envious of my friends who had nice sneakers or new bikes. As much as I tried to suppress these feelings, I couldn’t help but feel a twinge of jealousy. As I grew older, envy didn’t seem to fade along with the formation of maturity. A colleague’s promotion, a fancy car racing by, even a bit more spotlight thrown my coworkers’ way… these are all things that can trigger feelings of envy.

A parallel feeling to envy is fear. While fear bears a sense of neutrality, Catholicism even considers envy as one of the seven deadly sins. However, research has shown that envy is a universal emotion that is experienced by people all around the world. But while it may be a natural part of being human, that doesn’t mean that we have to let it consume us or control our actions. In this speech we’ll explore the causes and effects of envy and some strategies for tackling it and living a more fulfilling life.

As hard as it may be to admit, we all experience envy at some point or another. Whether we’re envious of someone’s success, their good looks, their relationships, or anything else, it’s a feeling that we can’t completely avoid. But while it may be a natural emotion, that doesn’t mean that we have to let it consume us or control our actions. One way to tackle envy is by cultivating…

--

--

Bond Wang

Forget injuries, never forget kindness. Hey, I write about life, culture, and daydreams. Hope I open a window for you, as well as for myself.